60 seconds with…Dan Edwards

DanNext in our series of 60 seconds with… we cornered operations director Dan Edwards, for some answers on James Corden, the Wimbledon Tennis Championships, and getting a buzz from a show’s build up.

Describe yourself in five words or less.

Passionate, friendly, fun, joker, helpful.

How long have you been in your role?

I’ve been at Mash over 10 years on an off (I’ve left the fold twice for two short periods) but they keep pulling me back. I’ve been in my current role as operations director for two years and five months.

How did you get into the events industry?

My first professional entry into the events industry was with Coca Cola. I worked at the Wimbledon Tennis Championships during my summers off from university – what an amazing experience.

What do you like and dislike about the events industry?

I love walking in to an empty venue on day one of build-up and seeing everything come together, it gives me a real buzz…and then that moment when the event actually opens, what a rush!

I don’t like people who say they are going to do something and then don’t, and dealing with the  knock on effect of this.

Half marathonHow has the industry changed since you first started?

There is a whole load more tech; the industry has come so far. Being a bit of tech geek I love it and if I could I’d use it all, I think it will take a while for some of it to be embraced but it will enhance the event experience so much when it is.

Also social media, everyone has a voice now and it can work in a positive and negative way especially in the events industry.

Best event you’ve been to?

The Royal Tournament at Earls Court, I was eight, what more could and an eight-year old want..and the famous Gun Run, wow.

What have been your key achievements to date? (Doesn’t have to be work related)

Chronologically:

  • Trials for England Basketball U18 – bit too short and a bit too slow.
  • Graduating with a degree, no idea how I managed that.
  • Marrying my wife and having our daughter Peggy, they are both amazing.
  • Finally, completing a Sprint Triathlon and the London Parks Half Marathon last year – if you know me I don’t do these kinds of things.

james-cordenWhich team do you support?

I’m a Liverpool supporter, although I’m from Surrey. When we were at that age of choosing which club to support all my mates chose London clubs, as you’d expect…I went with Liverpool, just to be different. #YNWA

If there was a film about your life, who would you choose to play you and why?

James Corden, and he’d play the role in a similar style to Smithy. As soon as Gavin and Stacey hit our TV’s my mates told me that I was so like Smithy and like James Corden, I think I’d be a doddle for him to portray…although not sure the film would be a Box Office smash.

Nicky and PeggyWhat do you do outside of work to let steam off?

I spend time with my family and friends. Simple things keep me happy, a day out with my wife and daughter, a decent pint in good company, a round of golf with ‘the lads’, plenty of banter (given and taken), a decent film…I’m pretty low maintenance.

Oh, I also have two vices: Trainers and cars. I spend a lot of time window shopping for the latter, and my wife would tell you I have more trainers than she has shoes.

What are your goals for 2015?

I’d like to get all my ducks in a row for 2016, it’s going to be BIG. Also if I can fit it in I’d like to do my NEBOSH qualification.

You can follow Dan on Twitter @Opsdontstop or send an email to dedwards@mashmedia.net.

 

What do you think #eventprofs? Who would you like us next to interview? Send us an email to weblogevents@gmail.com with your thoughts, or tweet us at @weblogevents.

Leave a Reply

